Catalogue Sound of Spaces
Hatje Cantz


Nevin Aladag lets wind and rain play music. She follows the sound of traces she finds in the city and lets objects create melodies seemingly by themselves. The result is a perceptive and always humorous “score” that has both ironic and poetic qualities. The Museum Villa Stuck is showing Aladağ’s most comprehensive solo presentation to date, including famous groups of works, such as the Music Room Athens presented at documenta 14. Essays by renowned art scholars such as Rachel Jans and Adam Szymczyk and a contribution by the award-winning writer Ulrike Draesner shed light on the artist’s work.

Nevin Aladag – Sound of Spaces
Ed. Michael Buhrs, Helena Pereña, text(s) by Ulrike Draesner, Rachel Jans, Sara Kühner, Helena Pereña, Adam Szymczyk, graphic design by Aleksandra Rusitschka
German, English
304 pp., 200 ills.
ISBN 978-3-7757-5143-8